Australia outclassed Malaysia 8-3 to lift their eigth title at the Azlan Shah Cup tonight. It was short of a master class performance but Australia punished Malaysia in the penalty corner department with Chris Cirello netting four of the goals.


Malaysia were at sea in the opening first quarter as the Aussies ran rings around them. It could however be attributed to final jitters as most players were playing in a major final for the first time.

Chris Cirello opened scoring off a penalty corner in the 6th minute before Eddie Okenden doubled the advantage in the 11th minute. Cirello then made it 3-0 in the 17th minute before Malaysia woke up to play hockey.

and Malaysia reduced the deficit as Ahmad Kazamiril shot was saved by keeper Andrew Charter but Shahril Saabah slammed home the rebound.

The Aussies were then given anxious moments by the Malaysians but both teams could not find the mark despite being awarded penalty corners.

Malaysia got their second in the 42nd minute via a Rashid bahrom deflection but Cirelo scored two minutes later to make it 4-2.

Nicholas Budgeon made it 5-2 in the 46th minute before Cirello scored his fourth and Australia's sixth in the 53rd minute. 

Matt Ghodes made it 7-2 in the 65th minute before Fitri Saaari made it 7-3 two minutes later.

tristan White scored his first senior international goal in the 68th minute to make it 8-3, a most one sided final in recent times.

Ealier in the bronze medal playoff Korea scored a penalty corner seconds from time to register a 3-2 win over China while Canada took fifth after a 2-0 win over South Africa