Played Points
1 India 5 13
2 Korea 5 13
3 Malaysia 5 9
4 Canada 5 6
5 Japan 5 3
6 Poland 5 0
This Week
Last Week
This Month
Last Month
All days

Your IP:
Server Time: 2019-09-16 16:23:35

India booked a place in the final of the Azlan Shah Cup when they defeated Malaysia 6-1.


India needed an outright win to pip New Zealand for a place in the final against Australia.


As for Malaysia the defeat sees them playing New Zealand for the bronze medal.


India last played in the 2010 final where they were joint champions with Korea as the final was abandoned due to rain.


Prior to that they had made the 2008 final but lost to Argentina.


India were on fire from the first whistle and took only three minutes to scorer.


Chandanda Thimmiah was perfectly placed at the far post to turn a cross from Mandeep Singh.


Four minutes later Harjeet Singh broke through the middle to score and India were cruising.


India were awarded a penalty corner in the 12th minute and the effort by Hermanpreet Singh was turned around the post by Mohd Shukri Mutalib on the goal line.


Ramandeep Singh made the most of a botched up penalty corner to score the third goal in the 25th minute.


Two minutes later it was 4-0 as Danish Mujtaba was first to pounce on a penalty corner rebound from Hermanpreet's attempt that hit the post.


At halftime India had a comfortable 4-0 lead.


The Indians were not done as Ramandeep made it 5-0 in the  39th minute.


Shahril Saabah reduced the deficit to 5-1 in the 46th minute.


That was a temporary respite as Talwinder Singh scored in the 50th minute to make it 6-1.